Jessica Makes Media

Leave a comment

February 13, 2013 by Welcome to the Jungle

A glance at Jessica R. in Media
February 12th, 2013
My name is Jessica R. and I am a 17 year old at Fredericton High School. I love a wide variety of things from making films, sewing, skiing and singing! However the most important thing in my life is God! Some sorts of media I consume now include movies, commercials, music videos, music, radio and magazines. When I am watching TV, I am watching shows like American idol and 90210. In regards to movies; my favourite series is the pirates of the Caribbean! I enjoy any action movies, but I also love sappy movies such as a walk to remember or the Titanic. The Music I enjoy to listen to is basically very broad. 99% of what I listen to falls into the genre of Christian music, whether it’s pop, acoustic, folk, indie, rock or even rap; I enjoy it all! I LOVE to create my own media, considering I am a film maker. I have created films for my uncle’s store (Think play and Endeavours) and as well for my parents business (Sweet valley Herbs). Some ways I use the internet include Facebook, twitter and YouTube! I use Facebook a lot to promo for my company; I make bags out of recycled shirts and sell them to raise money for my upcoming mission’s trip. I also am using YouTube to create videos to promote my business!
Media History
Some Television shows I watched as a child include dragon tales, Arthur and Clifford. My first movie at a theatre was the Grinch that stole Christmas. As for music; I can remember listening to Billy Gilman! I also listened to bands like the backstreet boys. I think ads for toys were a big influence on me as a child. I always saw toy ads on TV, depending on the station I was watching! The ads always made the toys look like so much fun; this lead to me asking my parents for them.
Toys
I played with a variety of toys; from dinosaur toys to Barbie’s and even Polly pockets. The ads for Barbie’s, my little pony, and Polly pockets come to mind when I think of the advertising I was exposed to as a child. I remember the commercials were filled with children who looked like they were having so much fun! They also made it look like the toys could move almost on their own! I don’t believe any of the toys I played with were dangerous or violent. My parents never let me be exposed to anything like that. An example of this would be the fact that I was never allowed to have Pokémon cards or gun toys!
Music Choices
The types of music I listen to now vary! I try surrounding myself with only positive and uplifting music! If you were to scroll through my iTunes you would see that most of it is Christian! God is the most important thing in my life; therefore my music reflects what is most important to me. I also usually turn to the softer types of music and even some country and folk style songs. I never listen to scream music or anything to heavy, I just find it to rough and it tends to give me a weird mood, it just isn’t what I like.

Television Choices
My favourite show on TV would have to be 90210. However I don’t have a specific favourite actor. The reason that this is my favourite show is because it is just plain entertaining. 90210 is similar to a soap opera for young adults! I like the drama, probably because I have so little drama in my life compared to what they go through on the show. It is all super unrealistic and fun to watch! I feel that if I am going to watch TV I might as well be entertained! (I rarely watch TV)
How do you get your news?
The way I get my news is usually on TV. I am not sure what channel I am watching it on; it is whatever channel my parents have it set on. My father and I watch it together sometimes and he will change to different news stations to see what each one is saying! I will also read it online sometimes, it just depends. One thing I don’t do is reading the paper; this is because I am just not big of reading in general.
Never on TV?
I am stumped when I think about what I believe shouldn’t be on TV. There is so much “junk” on TV as it is, that shouldn’t be on TV. One show that shouldn’t be on is Jersey Shore; I just believe it doesn’t instil good morals or values in people! However it is entertaining and isn’t that what TV is about? Other then that I guess things should be kept moderate and censored if they are airing on TV. I believe this because ANYONE can pick up a remote and flick through channels (this includes small children).
What will you learn?
The reason I took this class was mostly because I enjoy making films and it is the closest thing (other than video production…which I am already in) to making films and learning about them! I find the world of media and advertising very interesting and I myself enjoy creating my own media!
I expect to learn a lot of things I never thought of. I have already seen that in this course we look at things more critically; which is a skill I am excited to develop further. I also want to learn about making commercials, I think that would be really fun!

Leave a comment